turn off Resume – updated

NOTE: this post has been superceded. See the definitive guide to turning of Resume for good >>here!<<

This is going to be a major pain for a lot of people, including me!

One of the main reasons I do Cmd-Q (Quit command) is precisely because I want the app to open in a default mode and not to re-open what I was just doing. This is particularly the case if an app goes a bit squiffy or is just not doing what I want it to do.

One way to avoid Resume is to use the option key when you quit. Use the hotkey combination

Opt + Cmd + Q

or chose Quit from the application menu while holding down the option key. That will both quit the program and discard all current windows. However, if you want to turn off Resume completely, here’s how to do it:

1. Go to the Apple icon in the top left and choose ‘System Preferences’.

2.
The first icon at the top is ‘General’. Choose that, then look down the bottom for an option that says ‘Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps’. You need to UN-check that box to turn of Resume.





However, that’s not the end of Resume, as epbernstein kindly pointed out in the Commments below. Lion will still re-open all your un-quitted apps if you do a restart. In order to avoid this, you need to make sure you un-check the dialogue box in the close-down/restart menu:



By default, this will always be checked, so you’ll have to remember to un-check it every time. Alternatively, you can install and run a script to make this dialog box ineffective (it’ll still show it’s checked, but it won’t work). This is not an ideal solution since it means that if you forget (or someone else using your machine doesn’t know), there’s no indication that the feature is ‘off’. However, if you’re desperate to make sure this feature is off, this looks like the best option so far.

In case you didn’t see the note at the top of the page: ;)
NOTE: this post has been superceded. See the definitive guide to turning of Resume for good >>here!<<

About these ads

About philastokes

Freelance Writer, Developer and Technical Communicator. Explaining the unexplainable with images, video and text. Scripting anything imaginable in Applescript, Bash, C, Objective C, Cocoa, Python and Xcode.

Posted on July 21, 2011, in OS X Lion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. None of the above has worked for me or my wife. Will someone be fixing this? We need a PERMANANT Resume disable command.

  2. Thank you! This “feature” has been very annoying. The link to the Versions article doesn’t work.

  3. This checkbox in the general preference panel only keeps applications and documents that have been quit (normal Quit- cmd-Q is fine) from resuming when one restarts or logs on. Anything that was left open when the user logged out will resume regardless of the choice in the preference panel.

    • Yes, you’re right. If you restart the whole system, Lion will re-open any un-quitted apps (i.e., restore them). However, there’s a way round this which I’ve now included in the main body of the post.

      Thanks a lot for your comment and helping me to improve this post. :)

%d bloggers like this: