Advertisements

Blog Archives

how to recover OS X Lion

OS X Lion recovery

Since OS X Lion is only available via download from the App store, you may be wondering what to do if you need to recover the whole OS. In times past, you’d simply insert the original CD/DVD that the OS came on, but how do you do this if the OS is download only?

Apple has provided a couple of different ways of effecting a full recovery of Lion. In most cases, so long as you are connected to the internet either by Wifi or ethernet cable, you can simply restart your machine while holding down the Command key and the ‘R’ key on the keyboard (Cmd-R).

This will put your machine in recovery mode, and you can follow the instructions from the start up screen. Initially, your machine will try to recover from a special Recovery partition that Lion created on your hard disc when you originally installed it. However, if your HD is corrupted or unavailable for some reason, Lion will attempt to recover the OS directly from Apple’s servers. In both cases, be aware that you need an internet connection.

If Lion cannot re-install on your internal disc, or if you want to move the OS to a new or external disc, you will need to go through a few preparation steps. To learn about these and more about Lion’s recovery options, see the full Apple support article here.

Advertisements

turn off Resume – updated

NOTE: this post has been superceded. See the definitive guide to turning of Resume for good >>here!<<

This is going to be a major pain for a lot of people, including me!

One of the main reasons I do Cmd-Q (Quit command) is precisely because I want the app to open in a default mode and not to re-open what I was just doing. This is particularly the case if an app goes a bit squiffy or is just not doing what I want it to do.

One way to avoid Resume is to use the option key when you quit. Use the hotkey combination

Opt + Cmd + Q

or chose Quit from the application menu while holding down the option key. That will both quit the program and discard all current windows. However, if you want to turn off Resume completely, here’s how to do it:

1. Go to the Apple icon in the top left and choose ‘System Preferences’.

2.
The first icon at the top is ‘General’. Choose that, then look down the bottom for an option that says ‘Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps’. You need to UN-check that box to turn of Resume.





However, that’s not the end of Resume, as epbernstein kindly pointed out in the Commments below. Lion will still re-open all your un-quitted apps if you do a restart. In order to avoid this, you need to make sure you un-check the dialogue box in the close-down/restart menu:



By default, this will always be checked, so you’ll have to remember to un-check it every time. Alternatively, you can install and run a script to make this dialog box ineffective (it’ll still show it’s checked, but it won’t work). This is not an ideal solution since it means that if you forget (or someone else using your machine doesn’t know), there’s no indication that the feature is ‘off’. However, if you’re desperate to make sure this feature is off, this looks like the best option so far.

In case you didn’t see the note at the top of the page:😉
NOTE: this post has been superceded. See the definitive guide to turning of Resume for good >>here!<<

%d bloggers like this: