Monthly Archives: July 2011

how to recover OS X Lion

OS X Lion recovery



Since OS X Lion is only available via download from the App store, you may be wondering what to do if you need to recover the whole OS. In times past, you’d simply insert the original CD/DVD that the OS came on, but how do you do this if the OS is download only?

Apple has provided a couple of different ways of effecting a full recovery of Lion. In most cases, so long as you are connected to the internet either by Wifi or ethernet cable, you can simply restart your machine while holding down the Command key and the ‘R’ key on the keyboard (Cmd-R).

This will put your machine in recovery mode, and you can follow the instructions from the start up screen. Initially, your machine will try to recover from a special Recovery partition that Lion created on your hard disc when you originally installed it. However, if your HD is corrupted or unavailable for some reason, Lion will attempt to recover the OS directly from Apple’s servers. In both cases, be aware that you need an internet connection.

If Lion cannot re-install on your internal disc, or if you want to move the OS to a new or external disc, you will need to go through a few preparation steps. To learn about these and more about Lion’s recovery options, see the full Apple support article here.

how do touch screens work?

ver wondered how those touch screens work (and presumably the Apple trackpad, though I can’t vouch for this!)?

Some clever folk have laid it out as simple as you like in this infographic.

So now you know!

How Does a Touchscreen Phone Work?

How Does a Touch Screen Phone Work?

Lion is here, like it or not…


What are your thoughts about OS X Lion? Having problems working out how to do all the things you used to do in Snow Leopard? Leave a comment below, and I’ll try to solve them for you, or just let us all know what you love or hate about OS 10.7!

turn off inverse scrolling

Do you hate that iPad-style inverse/reverse scrolling in OS X Lion and want your scrolling back to normal? OK, don’t panic! It’s easy!

1.
 Click the Apple logo in the top left of the desktop, choose ‘System Preferences…’.

2.
 Choose the ‘Trackpad’ icon in the second row (‘Hardware’).

3.
 At the top are three tabs; click ‘Scroll & Zoom’.

4.
 The first option is ‘Scroll direction: natural’. UNCHECK this box (yes, what Apple calls ‘natural’ is what we call unnatural!).

That’s it you’re done. The world is restored to normal!

turn off Resume – updated


NOTE:
 this post has been superceded. See the definitive guide to turning of Resume for good>>here!<<

This is going to be a major pain for a lot of people, including me!

One of the main reasons I do Cmd-Q (Quit command) is precisely because I want the app to open in a default mode and not to re-open what I was just doing. This is particularly the case if an app goes a bit squiffy or is just not doing what I want it to do.

One way to avoid Resume is to use the option key when you quit. Use the hotkey combination

Opt + Cmd + Q

or chose Quit from the application menu while holding down the option key. That will both quit the program and discard all current windows. However, if you want to turn off Resume completely, here’s how to do it:

1. Go to the Apple icon in the top left and choose ‘System Preferences’.

2.
 The first icon at the top is ‘General’. Choose that, then look down the bottom for an option that says ‘Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps’. You need to UN-check that box to turn of Resume.




However, that’s not the end of Resume, as epbernstein kindly pointed out in the Commments below. Lion will still re-open all your un-quitted apps if you do a restart. In order to avoid this, you need to make sure you un-check the dialogue box in the close-down/restart menu:

By default, this will always be checked, so you’ll have to remember to un-check it every time. Alternatively, you can install and run a script to make this dialog box ineffective (it’ll still show it’s checked, but it won’t work). This is not an ideal solution since it means that if you forget (or someone else using your machine doesn’t know), there’s no indication that the feature is ‘off’. However, if you’re desperate to make sure this feature is off, this looks like the best option so far. 

In case you didn’t see the note at the top of the page:😉
NOTE: this post has been superceded. See the definitive guide to turning of Resume for good>>here!<<

iTunes — can’t download all updates? Here’s the workaround!




At the moment there seems to be a problem in iTunes with the ‘download all updates‘ button. There will undoubtedly be a fix for this coming soon — word is that this is a server-side problem at the App store and nothing to do with the Lion install specifically.

In the meantime, you can still update your apps by clicking on the individual update buttons under each individual app in the same App Store Update window.

I know, a pain if you’ve got more than four or five, but a workable solution till Apple sort it their end.

%d bloggers like this: